What a morning!

I’ve been riding on borrowed time for a couple of weeks, ever since I got my tires changed. The bike has been rattling and vibrating and the front tire keeps losing air. I figured it had a slow leak, but I was able to ride anyway. Until yesterday that is. Came home from a wedding and the front tire was flat, so off I went to buy an inner tube. Got it changed, pumped up and parked in the garage for today’s ride. But this morning, when I got ready to go, early because I knew it was going to be hot, the tire was flat! I took it off, adjusted the inner tube and checked for leaks, then put it back on but it wouldn’t pump up. So I took it off again, carefully lining up the tube and the tip, pumped it up and this time it worked. Success!

I took off on my ride, an hour later than planned and of course it was hot already. I barely got down the road and the back tire started making noise—not good. I had heard that sound before. So I pulled over and as I came to a stop, BOOM! The back tire blew up!


And this is only half the story. I called my husband to come and get me, which he did, and he put the bike in the back of his small truck. We drove home, got out to get the bike and it had fallen out! Someone, who will remain unnamed, didn’t tie it down. We retraced our drive and no bike. It had disappeared. We were both amazed it had been picked up in the ten minutes it took to go home and back. What made it worse is I had left my cell phone in the pouch and my iTouch in its holder. I was totally bummed.

Back home again. He tried calling my phone, but no one answered. Then it rang. It was the police and they had my bike! We drove back to the point where I had the blow out, and picked it up from a policewoman. A man named Robert had found it, put it in his truck and waited. We drove by him a few times, but didn’t know he had the bike and he didn’t know we were looking for it. But this honest man called the police and gave my bike, phone and iTouch back to me! She called him for me and I was able to thank him. Thank you Robert! Thank you God, for an honest man!

Guess who tied up the bike on the way home?

After reading the following post, I don’t feel so bad.

Leave a comment

Filed under thoughts

Leave a comment