I did it on a Cruiser!

I rode almost to the Ranger Station in Lytle Creek, that is. You can see my route here on the mapmyride website. According to the map, it’s a little over 25 miles and it’s hilly. When I got to Lytle Creek Road, I decided I was getting a little tired of riding to the water tank, so I turned left. My usual route is going to change anyway, because they will be closing the freeway overpass for two whole years while they work on building a big interchange. So instead of waiting, I checked out the ride.

Now you have to remember I am riding a Cruiser, with no gears. When I had first worked up to 11 miles, I told a woman cyclist I met how far I was riding. She raised her eyebrows and said, “On that?” About a week later, a woman in a car next to me at a stoplight yelled out her window, “You do purty good on that!” I chuckled all the way home. Last week I talked to a guy who told me it would be difficult to ride up Lytle Creek on that. Well, it was a little harder and it took me 2 and a half hours, but it was great. I thought I might be dragging the last few miles but I was energized and felt really good.

These donkeys are at the 7 mile point. I like to think they were cheering me on, but they were pretty blasé about the whole thing. Me, I’m jazzed. Next time I’ll make it to the Ranger Station, which was just a little farther than I went today.

Leave a comment

Filed under thoughts

Leave a comment